Monday, September 14, 2009


Based on last week's revelations regarding ACORN's child prostitution scandal, coupled with their past improprieties, their government funding must be stopped. Today, the Senate held a vote to prohibit funds for 2010, but we have a long way to go. What's astonishing is the seven who voted Nay!

Two questions: 1) Does that mean the will receive more funds in 2009? 2) Will they really be prohibited, or funded under another name?

From Senate Conservatives Fund:

September 14, 2009

The Senate voted 87-3 tonight to prohibit funds in the FY2010 Transportation-HUD Appropriations bill from going to ACORN.

Even after some really bad ACORN publicity, there are still 7 liberals in the Senate who want to shovel taxpayer funds to this criminal organization. Here are the ACORN-7:

■Dick Durbin (D-IL)

■Roland Burris (D-IL)

■Robert Casey (D-PA)

■Kirsten Gillibrand (D-NY)

■Patrick Leahy (D-VT)

■Bernie Sanders (I-VT)

■Sheldon Whitehouse (D-RI)
Getting 87 votes against ACORN is a major accomplishment for conservatives and its the result of persistence. Two efforts earlier this year were not so successful.
Sen. David Vitter (R-LA) offered an amendment to the stimulus (H.R. 1) on Feb. 6, which would have prohibited direct or indirect distribution of funds to ACORN. It was defeated by Democrats on a 45-51 vote.
Sen. Vitter also offered an amendment to the Serve America Act (HR 1388) on March 26, which prohibited the distribution of funds to ACORN. That amendment was tabled an a 53-43 vote.
It's clear that Democrats don't want to cut ACORN off. Conservatives must continue to fight this battle until all federal funding for ACORN has been abolished.